Banner Before Header


Unless President Duterte decides otherwise

0 682
THE National Capital Region and the provinces of Laguna, Cavite and Rizal in the Calabarzon region and Bulacan in Central Luzon, are likely to remain under the ‘modified enhanced community quarantine’ (MECQ) even as restrictions in the rest of the country eases down to ‘modified general community quarantine’ (MGCQ) or ‘general community quarantine’ (GCQ).

Based on Resolution 63 dated August 14, 2020, approved by the ‘Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases,’ simply known as the “IATF,” effective August 16 until August 31, 2020, the following areas, to include highly-urbanized areas (HUCs) and independent component cities (ICCs) shall be classified as under MGCQ:

For Luzon: Cordillera Administrative Region—Abra, Apayao, Ifugao, Benguet, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Baguio City;

Region 1: Ilocos Norte, Ilocus Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Dagupan City; Region 2: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Viscaya, Quirino and Santiago City;

Region 3: Aurora, Bataan, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, Olongapo City; Region 4A (Calabarzon): Lucena City; Region 4B: Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Palawan, Puerto Princesa City;

Region 5: Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, Sorsogon, Naga City.

For Visayas: Region 6—Aklan, Antique, Bacolod City, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental; Region 7: Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor;

Region 8: Biliran, Leyte, Southern Leyte, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar, Western Samar, Ormoc City and Tacloban City;

For Mindanao: Region 9—Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga City;

Region 10: Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Iligan City, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City; Region 11: Davao de Oro, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Occidental, Davao Oriental and Davao City;

Region 12: North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, General Santos City, Cotabato City;

Region 13/Caraga: Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Island, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Butuan City;

BARMM: Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-tawi.

Under GCQ:

For Luzon: Nueva Ecija and Batangas and Quezon in Calabarzon/Region 4A; Iloilo City in the Visayas and, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City and Mandaue City in Region 7.

In the case of Cebu, the province shall be placed under MGCQ, except for Talisay City and the municipalities of Minglanilla and Consolacion, which shall remain under GCQ.

As the resolution did not mention the National Capital Region, Laguna, Cavite, Rizal and Bulacan, this is taken to mean that they would remain under MECQ until the end of August or unless decided to by President Duterte, who is expected to make an announcement later tonight, August 17, 2020.

The IATF made the recommendations after consultation with its ‘Screening and Validating Committee. Resolution 63 was signed by Department of Health secretary, Francisco Duque III and Cabinet Secretary Karlo Alexei Nograles, co-chairs of the task force.

The IATF and the Department of Interior and Local Government DILG) shall ensure that strict “localized actions” are implemented by local authorities.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.